RVs and Camper Trailers: Preseason Inspection

Updated on March 25, 2018
Randy Godwin profile image

Randy is a lifelong lover of the outdoors and especially camping. This article is intended to help the RVer save money and time on repairs.

Source

Camping Time is Near!

With another camping season looming, it’s time to get the old camping unit, whether it is a motor home, camper trailer, or other type of RV, prepared for the next camping trip. Sure, everything worked great at the end of the last camping season, but this is no assurance your camper hasn’t undergone some changes for the worse during the off-season.

A pre-season inspection is highly recommended for motorhome and camper-trailer owners before starting out on the year’s first camping sojourn. he following tips will help you find and fix potential problems before you take to the road.

Get Ready For The Road

Click thumbnail to view full-size

How to Inspect the Tires and Brakes

Safety is always the major concern in any inspection of a camping unit. The tires and brakes should be examined thoroughly to ascertain their reliability.

In some instances (this writer experienced this last year), the brakes can lock up after the RV or camper trailer has been parked for the winter. Motor homes which have self-adjusting brakes are especially susceptible to this occurrence.

These type brakes self-adjust when the RV is moving in reverse and the brakes are applied. This causes the brake adjustment to slightly tighten a small amount. Eventually, these brakes will adjust so tight the motor home cannot be moved without manually adjusting them. This requires using a screwdriver to release the tension on the brake adjuster itself.

Check the inflation of each tire for slow leaks and proper air pressure. Check the condition of the tires, such as crack and cuts which could cause future problems. Do not neglect the spare tire;you might need it someday.

The wheel bearings should be greased annually if you camp often; otherwise every few years is usually sufficient enough for camper trailers and RVs. Bearing Buddies, clear easily lubricated bearing covers, are the best friend of campers because of their ease of use and dependability. Well worth the money, they will give you peace of mind when on the road.

Inspecting the Plumbing and Electrical Systems

Plumbing and electrical problems are common in a motorhome or camper trailer. Inspect the plumbing by pressurizing the system for a few hours to check for any leaks which may have occurred during the off season.

Flush the toilet; run and drain the bath and sinks and any other water valve in the system. Check the holding tanks, both fresh and waste, for any leaks or potential cracks in either. These are not problems you want to discover at the camp site.

Use a simple circuit tester to test all outlets. Check the lights and any other electrical features you may have. Run the A/C on a warm day to ascertain the correct workings of the unit. Always keep an electrical circuit tester aboard your RV, a multimeter is very inexpensive and easy to use.

This part of the electrical inspection includes any electrical jacks, antennas, slide out rooms etc. Do not forget to test the 12-volt converter as it can go bad in the off season or at any other time.

The refrigerator should be allowed to cycle several times to make sure it is operating efficiently. If your RV has an absorption refrigerator, check the exhaust vent for any obstructions such as wasp or birds nests.

If the exhaust vent is blocked the unit will not work correctly. The heat must be allowed to vent away properly. This is very important for continued efficiency of the unit.

Inspecting the Roof and Exterior

Be sure to check the roof for any cracking of the sealants used for the roof seams and around any vents or A/C units. Over time this sealant can become brittle and crack during transport of the RV or Camper trailer.

Any suspected areas should be treated or patched with products made especially for this purpose. Rubber or plastic-based roofing materials require special types of materials to seal the leaks correctly. Some of these products can be found on this page if you need to use them.

Many RVs or camper trailers use running lights located around the perimeter of the camping unit. They are attached with a type of gasket or sealant to seal the holes where they are attached to the unit. Occasionally these gaskets can crack, allowing water to seep into the unit itself and causing unseen damage for a while. Again, a good sealant is recommended to seal these areas. You can find these products on this page if you need them.

Motorhome Maintenance: Engine, Batteries, Fluids

Unlike a Camper trailer, a motor home has its own power plant which needs to be serviced annually. Simply changing the oil in the engine is not enough. The engine belts should be examined for cracks and wear and replaced if suspect.

The batteries should also be tested and replaced before the season starts. Power steering and brake fluid levels should be checked and don’t neglect the cooling system. The anti-freeze/coolant should be tested for efficiency and contamination.

Following these tips will not guarantee a trouble free camping trip, but it may prevent some of the worst case scenarios which have been experienced by many of us who love the outdoors and camping in particular.

Good luck with the coming season of camping in our wonderful parks and nature areas.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Randy Godwin profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Godwin 

      3 years ago from Southern Georgia

      @Anderson--Yes, some of the questions do seem to be very simple to answer, but then, there's no accounting for what people do and do not know about common things. You can find my Facebook and G+ accounts by clicking on my photo at the top of the page. :)

    • profile image

      Anderson 

      3 years ago

      I comment when I apptceiare an article on a blog or I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion. It is triggered by the fire communicated in the article I looked at. And on this article Camping | Vibrantliving4u.com. I was actually excited enough to post a comment I actually do have a few questions for you if you don't mind. Could it be just me or does it seem like some of these remarks appear like coming from brain dead visitors? And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I'd like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list the complete urls of all your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • Randy Godwin profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Godwin 

      8 years ago from Southern Georgia

      You got that right, creekside! Many a vacation is ruined by not doing annual inspections. Thanks!

    • thecreeksideangle profile image

      thecreeksideangle 

      8 years ago from Nevada

      Great hub! Tires and brakes! I've seen a lot of rigs on the side of the road at beginning of the season. Getting where you're going is half the fun.

    • Randy Godwin profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Godwin 

      8 years ago from Southern Georgia

      Me too, Charlie! RV's are great for comfortable camping outings. No sand in the bed either!

    • profile image

      ralwus 

      8 years ago

      Now that Wee One is retired I have been thinking of selling the house and getting one for myself. I'm too old for tents and such.

    • Randy Godwin profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Godwin 

      8 years ago from Southern Georgia

      How's it goin', Gus? Pretty chilly here too. Thanks for the comments and for reading my junk!

      RANDY

    • GusTheRedneck profile image

      Gustave Kilthau 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Randy - Keep those wagons rolling... ! The trail riders are just now underway into Houston. (Today is "Go Texan Day" here. Sure enough, just like clockwork, the weather has turned to rain and cold.

      Gus :-)))

    • Randy Godwin profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Godwin 

      8 years ago from Southern Georgia

      Thanks for reading,Aaron.

    • profile image

      AARON99 

      8 years ago

      Very informative hub. Keep it up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, axleaddict.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://axleaddict.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)